Skip to content

Samantha Gears Up For Team GB Opener

University of Brighton student, Samantha Bolwell, is about to join Team GB for their opening match today (Tuesday 10th December) against Japan. Samantha represents Team Great Britain in Ice Hockey and is about to take to the ice at the 2013 World University Winter Games.  

The 2013 World University Winter Games hosts 1,800 athletes from 59 nations and is taking place in Trento, Italy. Great Britain are set to compete in Curling, Ice Hockey, Cross-Country Skiing and Snowboard Cross.

This is the 26th edition of the World University Winter Games, or Winter Universiade, which is organised by the International University Sports Federation (FISU) and held every two years.

In taking part in the World University Games, GBR’s athletes follow in the footsteps of Jessica Ennis-Hill and Beth Tweddle, Shelley Rudman and Amy Williams.

Samantha is currently studying Sport & Exercise Science at the Eastbourne campus and is in her 2nd year. Samatha plays in goal for the Great Britain women's senior team as well as club side Guildford Lightning.


The GBR Women's Ice Hockey schedule is as follows:

GBR v Japan (Tue 10 Dec, 12:00)

GBR v USA (Thu 12 Dec, 12:00)

GBR v Canada (Fri 13 Dec, 12:00)

GBR v Spain (Sun 15 Dec, 12:00)

GBR v Russia (Mon 16 Dec, 12:00)

Semi finals (Wed 18 Dec, 16:00/20:00)

5th v 6th Playoff (Thu 19 Dec, 16:00)

Bronze medal match (Fri 20 Dec, 16:00)

Final (Fri 20 Dec, 20:00)


Team Great Britain Ice Hockey Squad (Women)

Ian Turner (Team Leader)

Simon Manning (Head Coach)

Sally Taylor (Assistant Coach)

Ryan Rathbone (Assistant Coach)

  • Saffron Allen (Solihull College)
  • Jennifer Bolton (University of Hertfordshire)
  • Samantha Bolwell (University of Brighton)
  • Judith Browne (Sheffield Hallam University)
  • Hannah Carnegy-Arbuthnott (University College London)
  • Jade Cito (Nottingham Trent University)
  • Holly Cornford (Nottingham Trent Law School)
  • Natalie Davies (University of Hull)
  • Alison Emery (Middlesex University)
  • Katie Firth (Sheffield Hallam University)
  • Sarah Hutchinson (Edge Hill University)
  • Lydia Howton (Oxford Brookes University)
  • Nicole Jackson (University of Bolton)
  • Amy Lack (University of Chester)
  • Monica Petrosino (University of Surrey)
  • Bethany Scoon (Edinburgh Napier University)
  • Lauren Summers (Oxford Brookes University)
  • Abbie Thornton (Leeds Metropolitan University)
  • Philippa Wilson (Manchester Metropolitan University)


For more news and information on the Games click here, and follow BUCS on Facebook and Twitter for more updates.